Burritos (Food Logs) in Helsinki

“A burrito is a delicious food item that breaks down all social barriers and leads to temporary spiritual enlightenment.”

I like burritos. So much so that I’m willing to dedicate an entire post about places in Helsinki that offer, in my honest opinion, the best Mexican sleeping bags.

Tortilla House

Tortilla House

We kick of the recommendations with Tortilla House (subtle link to the website). The cool thing about this place is that you get to assemble your very own burrito, taco or salaatti (read salad).

 

Tortilla HouseI, myself, opted for a chicken burrito (’cause you know, fitness and stuff). I also asked them to throw some lime, black beans, salad, cheese and salsa (which is basically everything they had to offer) on that b*tch. To finish up, I drizzled some nice sour cream on top of it (is there a drooling emoji?). What does it look like you ask me? Well have a look at the picture below. This monstrosity was as big as my forearm and believe me, I’ve got a pretty big forearm (pantydropper).

Tortilla House
BEHOLD

Santa Fé

Santa FéNext up, Santa Fé (yet another subtle link). If you like cheese, than you’ll adore this place. I know it sounds cheesy, but I think this place was grate (pun intended). This joint is located in a small Mexican village in the middle of Helsinki City Centre. If the weather’s good (it was snowing when I ate there), you can enjoy your aperitif (fancy) in a very cosy and relaxed atmosphere.

Once more I shall honour you with not 1 but 2 santa-fepictures of what I’ve eaten at Santa Fé. First up, the chicken burrito. Though it may not look appetizing, this was actually really good (notice the big splash of cheese at the top of the plate). Also, if you like your burrito to have a bit more of a kick (read spicy) to it, just tell you waiter how spicy you want your burrito to be on a scale from 1 to 10 (FYI; I chose -1).

santa-fe (1)Another dish (cheese fanatics, hold on to your nipples), is the Nachos Supreme. A big (and when I say big, I mean big) plate filled with nachos, coated with enough cheese to feed an African village for 2 whole days. Add some olives, onions, jalapenos and tomatoes on that and you’ve got yourself a meal. Honestly, I don’t even want to know how many calories this badboy contains.

 

Suburritos

SuburritosLast but not least, Suburritos (you guessed it, another link) Not going to lie, I did not get the opportunity to actually eat at Suburritos BUT I did walk past it like 5 times and I must admit, I was drooling all 5 times. Burritos, tacos, salads, enchiladas, quesadillas,… You name it, they’ve got. When you finally ordered your food (which I did not get to), you’ll receive a real piece of art. All of the previously mentioned foods are presented in ways not even the gods can match. You’ll be tormented by the fact that you have to eat such a magnificent masterpiece.

Conclusion

If you prefer assembling your own burrito, taco,… then I suggest going to Tortilla House. In Suburritos you also have the opportunity to create your own but only during lunch on weekdays from 11am to 2pm. If you’re not the creative type (read lazy) and you rather just pick something from the menu then I suggest going to either Santa Fé or Suburritos.

“But Maximiliaan, which one of the 2 is the best?”. Ah, good question. If you like having a cosy aperitif and are not bothered by receiving a plate which looks a bit boring (but tastes delicious), then go to Santa Fé. If you like destroying (food) masterpieces with your hands or cutlery then I suggest going to Suburritos.

So ladies and gentleman, if you want a burrito, DON’T LET YOUR DREAMS BE DREAMS and visit one of the previously mentioned places. If by any chances the owners of these establishments are reading this post, would you consider sponsoring me with a lifetime supply of burritos? I like them.

Don_tLetYourDreams_1024x1024
#ShiaLabeouf4President

Love, Peace, and chicken grease

Maximiliaan

Leave a Reply

